Chakras for Beginners


Vital Universal Life Force continuously flows through our body, caring energy, and information. This flow is a two-way passage. This life force moves by "main freeway," which goes along our spine and vegas nerve, and "secondary roads" – meridians. This primary route starts at the top of our head and ends at the tail bone or base of our spine. Along this "freeway," we could find seven major chakras. These chakras work as "distribution centers" of this energy and information to nearby organs, organ systems, and other body elements. These chakras have a vital role in our physical, emotional, mental, and spiritual health. When blockage or restriction in the chakra occurs, illness or health issues could develop. Let's talk about each of these chakras.

The first one is the Root or Base chakra.

The color of this chakra is red. The location of this chakra is the base of the spine. This chakra is the closest to the earth and associated with the earth element. It projects connections with our primitive power, our family of origin, and our immediate society. The root chakra is also related to our survival, wellbeing, and security. It helps us find a solution when our survival is at stake. The first chakra is associated with the following behavioral characteristics: security, safety, survival, basic needs (food, sleep, shelter, self-preservation, etc.), physical identity, and grounding. This chakra also helps us maintain our inner peace. When this chakra is balanced, we feel stable, safe, and supported.

The second one is the Sacral Chakra.

The sacral chakra resonates with our need for relationships. It is related to sensuality, sexuality, and desire for pleasure. It is in the lower abdomen, and its color is orange. This chakra is associated with the element of water. The second chakra shifts from obeying tribal, family authority, and allows us to discover satisfying relationships and interests of our own. This chakra helps with self-awareness, self-expression, personal identity, and explore our sexuality. This chakra is all about having the power to realize and utilize your talent to express the life you want to lead. The second chakra also helps us recognize human imperfection as beautifully flawed, which makes us all unique.

The third Chakra is Solar Plexus Chakra.

Its color is yellow, and it is related to our power in this world. Its natural element is fire, and this is where the "fire in your belly" term derives from. It is a place of personal power and awareness; it is why many cultural traditions focus on belly breathing. This chakra is our energy center, where our willpower and can-do attitude derive. This energy center is associated with your sense of purpose, individual will, digestion, and metabolism. When the third chakra is in healthy alignment, we are comfortable with our inherent strength and become empowered. We have a sense of who we are and why we are here, our mission and purpose. We can let go of the things that do not serve us anymore. Our relationship with the world around us and our beliefs about our place within it come from this chakra.

Fourth Chakra - Heart Chakra.

Green is the color of this chakra, and it relates naturally to love, empathy, and compassion, being at our heart center. This fourth chakra is associated with air. Heart chakra opens our hearts and makes us realize that love and compassion are like air all around us. Green is the color of balance, life, growth, and color of nature. It is through balance that we discover the center from which we can love, build healthy and nurturing relationships, give and accept love. The heart chakra provides us with the ability to forgive and accept, to grieve, and attain peace and tranquility. The energy of the green color chakra is calming and soothing. Through this chakra, we feel connected to people and the world around us; and recognize that we all interconnected within an intricate web of relationships. Healthy chakra empowers compassion, not only for others but for yourself, too.

Fifth - Throat Chakra.

The throat is the communication center, where we speak our truth in this world. Its color is blue. It is about communicating your thoughts, feelings, and intentions clearly and accurately. The throat chakra resonates with emotional and mental struggles and has the willpower to vocalize what we desire in our life. The fifth chakra is the place from which we speak, sing, recite poetry, or say loving gestures. We also can use our voice to project hurt, criticism, or slander. It is through this chakra that we manifest what we want in life. It also reflexes our choices in communications (how we communicate) and associations (with whom we interact). This chakra is all about determination, willpower, and the right to speak and be heard.

Six Chakra - Third Eye Chakra.

The natural color of this chakra is indigo, and its element is light. The third eye chakra is located in the forehead, between and slightly above the eyebrows. It is situated in the center of the brain and physically connects to pituitary and pineal glands. The sixth chakra is the mind chakra. It resonates with the energy of our psyche, as well as our conscious and unconscious psychological tendencies. It governs our intellectual and intuitive abilities and our potential for spiritual awareness. This chakra is where we not only see what is going on, but we also know what it means. It is where your sense of justice and your ethics originate. This chakra opens a window to the unknown when we start to realize that our intuition is guidance from universal consciousness and the spiritual world.

The Seven - Crown Chakra.

The color of this chakra is violet or white. In connection with the physical body, the Crown Chakra is the entry point for the human life-force, which pours abundantly into the body's energy system from the greater universe (God or Universal/Cosmic Consciousness). It is this force that nourishes the body, mind, and spirit, and distributes this energy throughout the physical body and down the lower chakras. The seventh and highest chakra is our connector to the divine and our spiritual nature. People must not mistake the personal spiritual connection of the seventh chakra with religion. Spirituality is an individual experience directed towards releasing fears of the physical world and relating to the divine, and knowing the divine is in all of us.


The first three chakras are about ourselves, how we see ourselves, our ambitions, our desires. The last three chakras about others, our relationship with the world, but Heart Chakra unites them with unconditional love for ourselves and the world around us. This chakra brings balance between I and We, inner and outer world, and connects us with higher ourselves. During meditation, Heart Chakra elevates us to a higher plain, connecting our consciousness to universal consciousness, helping us feel Oneness. Why it is not surprising that the heart develops and starts working during the fourth week of pregnancy before the brain or any other organ or tissue.

0 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All